Indonesia Indonesia Asia Current Local Time & Date, Time Zone and Time Difference

Indonesia is an archipelago in Oceania and Southeast Asia, comprising over 17,500 islands. The country borders with East Timor, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia, Singapore, Australia, Philippines, Palau and Nicobar Islands. The capital city of Indonesia is Jakarta, which follows the Indonesia Western Time Zone. Other time zones followed in the country are Indonesia Central Time and Indonesia Eastern Time. The government has been working towards a single time zone in the entire country to cut down trillions of rupiah – the local currency.

How many time zones does Indonesia have?

Indonesia has 4 time zones and a time difference from UTC+7 to UTC+9.

4 Time Zones

Time Zones (4)

Time Zone Universal Time Coordinated Current local time Major Cities in Time Zone
Asia/Jakarta UTC+7 08:36 Jakarta, Surabaya, Bekasi, Bandung, Medan
Asia/Pontianak UTC+7 08:36 Pontianak, Palangkaraya, Singkawang, Sampit, Sungai Raya
Asia/Makassar UTC+8 09:36 Makassar, Samarinda, Denpasar, Balikpapan, Banjarmasin
Asia/Jayapura UTC+9 10:36 Jayapura, Ambon, Sorong, Ternate, Manokwari

Country Information


Indonesia Flag



Continent: Asia




1,919,440 km²




Rupiah (IDR)



Phone Calling Code / Prefix

  • +62
  • 0062

Source: » Indonesia Phone Calling Code / Prefix

Country Code

ISO 3166

Interesting Places in Indonesia

Neighbouring Countries